Press Release

January 19, 2012
Margot Grant, (650) 691-2121/ (650) 383-8086 - cell

(SACRAMENTO) Wednesday, Assemblyman Rich Gordon (Menlo Park) was elected as Chair of the Californian Legislative Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender (LGBT) Caucus.

“I am honored to be elected as Chair of the LGBT Caucus,” said Gordon. “I will continue work on important LGBT issues and fight to bring equality to all LGBT individuals and couples.”

June 08, 2011
Eric Astacaan - 916-319-2226

SACRAMENTO, CA – Senator Christine Kehoe, Chair of the California Legislative LGBT Caucus, issued the following statement today to commemorate the 30th anniversary when the first five cases of what is now known as the Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) were reported on June 5, 1981 in the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR):

August 04, 2010
Eric Astacaan - 916-319-2226

Sacramento, California – Members of the California Legislative Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Caucus issued the following statements in response to the decision issued today by Judge Vaughn R. Walker of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California in the case entitled Perry vs. Schwarzenegger, invalidating Proposition 8, the discriminatory state constitutional amendment that banned marriage for same-sex couples:

December 10, 2009
Eric Astacaan - 916-319-2226

Sacramento, CA – Fellow Members of the California Legislative LGBT Caucus issued the following statements after the Assembly Democratic Caucus voted unanimously today to support Assemblymember John A. Pérez (D-Los Angeles) to serve as the next Speaker of the California State Assembly.  Assemblymember Pérez’s selection makes him the first openly-gay Speaker of the Assembly.  A floor vote is expected when the Assembly reconvenes next month.

Senator Mark Leno (D – San Francisco), Chair: