Assemblyman Gordon’s statement on the Supreme Court’s oral arguments in California’s Proposition 8 Case

March 26, 2013

Assemblyman Gordon’s statement on the Supreme Court’s oral arguments in California’s Proposition 8 Case

SACRAMENTO, CA - Assemblyman Rich Gordon (Menlo Park), Chair of the Legislative Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Caucus, released the following statement in response to the Supreme Court hearing oral arguments in California’s Proposition 8 case.

“Marriage equality has been a priority and a dream of the LGBT Caucus since its inception in 2002. As chair of the Caucus, I am looking forward to see the day that all Americans, gay or straight, are able to marry.  

Marrying my partner of 26 years in 2008 was one of the greatest days of my life. This was an experience and an opportunity that many loving couples have been denied until now. 

Same-sex couples should be granted, in spirit and name, the same rights many other married Californians have long enjoyed, such as the ability to file jointly for taxes, become foster or adoptive parents, be assured they will be taken care of under a spouse’s employer or veteran benefits, and even freely visit a loved one in the hospital.

The passage of Proposition 8 was a dark day for individual freedoms and rights. The ban on same-sex marriage came as shock to most, and we have worked diligently for four years to overturn this discriminating measure. The tide of public opinion has slowly changed in our favor with representatives from both sides of the aisle recognizing the fundamental fact that all American are afforded the same protections under the Constitution.

We must continue to fight because, after all, marriage equality is an individual right, not an individual state’s right. Our work is not done until every American can also exercise their right to marry whom they love.”

Originally formed in 2002, the LGBT Caucus serves as a forum for the California Legislature to discuss issues that affect LGBT Californians and to further the goal of equality and justice for all residents in the State. Comprised of both Senate and Assembly members, the LGBT Caucus members include: Speaker John A. Pérez; Assemblymembers Tom Ammiano, Toni Atkins, Susan Eggman; Senators Cathleen Galgiani, Ricardo Lara, and Mark Leno. The Caucus’ formation made California the first state in the country to recognize an official caucus of openly-LGBT state legislators.


Media Contact: 
William Kim

Related Documents: