Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman Elected to Serve as Chair for LGBT Caucus

January 07, 2015

January 7, 2015

Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman
Elected to Serve as Chair for LGBT Caucus 

SACRAMENTO, CA – Today the California Legislative Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Caucus elected Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman as its new chair.

“I am honored that my colleagues elected me to serve as the next LGBT Caucus Chair,” Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman (Stockton) said. “We have done a lot of great work recently, and there is more still to do. We will continue working with our colleagues and community partners to ensure that members of the LGBT community have the freedom to marry whom they choose, are safe at work and in our schools and that our most vulnerable members, including homeless youth and transgender individuals, are not left behind. We have laid a strong foundation and I am excited to continue working on behalf of all Californians.”

Originally formed in 2002, the LGBT Caucus serves as a forum for the California Legislature to discuss issues that affect LGBT Californians and to further the goal of equality and justice for all residents in the State. Comprising both Senate and Assembly members, the LGBT Caucus members include: Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins, Assemblymembers Susan Talamantes Eggman (Chair), Richard S. Gordon, Evan Low; Senators Cathleen Galgiani, Ricardo Lara, and Mark Leno. The Caucus’ formation made California the first state in the country to recognize an official caucus of openly-LGBT state legislators.


Media Contacts:
Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman
Christian Burkin

LGBT Caucus
William Kim

Related Documents: